Remembering with Bach

All Souls

Order your tickets here
All Souls All Souls

The background

All Souls

Every human emotion is expressed in this programme of four well-known and popular Bach cantatas.

True to life…“

For many centuries, the Western Christian tradition has held a day of remembrance for the dead on 2 November, under the name of All Souls. It is a day when sorrow and joy come together. Sorrow for the loss, and joy because of all the beautiful memories or the comforting thought of a heavenly afterlife. This All Souls programme of four well-known and popular Bach cantatas expresses a whole range of human emotions: pain, joy, sadness, hope and triumph. In short, the programme is a reflection of life itself and is ideally suited to the experienced Baroque conductor René Jacobs.

The concert

Works and Performance


Johann Sebastian Bach 
Der Himmel lacht! 
Die Erde jubilieret, BWV 31
Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 4 
Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen, BWV 12 
Erschallet, ihr Lieder, BWV 172


Netherlands Bach Society
René Jacobs, conductor

Isabel Schicketanz, soprano
Tim Mead, alto
Thomas Hobbs, tenor
Nicolas Brooymas, bass


Order tickets