Guest conductors and the St Matthew Passion

Under the artistic leadership of Jos van Veldhoven, guest conductors were regularly invited to conduct the St Matthew Passion in Naarden. Jos van Immerseel was the first, in 1984, followed by names like Ton Koopman, René Jacobs, Philip Herreweghe and Gustav Leonhardt.

Timeline image

Choir and orchestra of the Netherlands Bach Society, conducted by Ton Koopman, for the performance of the St Matthew Passion in 1989.